new ideas and emerging results track

Goal and Scope

The goal of the New Ideas and Emerging Results (NIER) track is to provide researchers with a forum for presenting and getting early feedback on novel research ideas and promising work that has not yet been fully evaluated. The topics of interest for this track are the same as the main research track.

How to submit

Submissions should conform to the ICSE 2010 Format and Submission Guidelines and should consist of a four-page paper that discusses:

• Overview/Motivation and state of the art
• Proposed approach and preliminary results, with a statement clearly indicating the new and/or emerging aspects of the work
• Impact of results and possible future research directions

Papers must be submitted electronically through CyberChairPro.

Review and Evaluation Criteria

Each submission will be reviewed by at least two members of the New Ideas and Emerging Results committee. The committee will review submissions using the standard ICSE criteria: originality, importance of contribution, soundness of rationale, quality of presentation, and appropriate consideration of relevant literature. Special emphasis will be put on the originality of the work.


Accepted submissions will be allocated four pages in the proceedings companion. Authors will also present their work at the main conference, both as a five-minute talk during dedicated, highly interactive sessions and as a poster, demo, and/or video.

Important Dates

7 January 2010
11 February 2010
3 March 2010

NIER Track Co-Chairs

Nachiappan Nagappan
Microsoft Research, USA

Martin Robillard
McGill University, Canada

Program Committee

Margaret Burnett
Oregon State University, USA

Licia Capra
University College London, UK

Ivica Crnkovic
Mälardalen University, Sweden

Steve Easterbrook
University of Toronto, Canada

Kokichi Futatsugi
Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan

Michael W. Godfrey
University of Waterloo, Canada

Mary Jean Harrold
Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Jean-Marc Jezequel
INRIA and University of Rennes 1, France

Christine Julien
University of Texas at Austin, USA

Sung Kim
Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China

Radu Marinescu
Politehnica University of Timisoara, Romania

Mayur Naik
Intel Research Berkeley, USA

Kumiyo Nakakoji
SRA-KTL Inc. and University of Tokyo, Japan

Linda Northrop
Software Engineering Institute, USA

Mauro Pezze
University of Lugano, Switzerland and University of Milano Bicocca, Italy

Narayan Ramasubbu
Singapore Management University, Singapore

Sriram Sankaranarayanan
University of Colorado, Boulder, USA

Koushik Sen
University of California, Berkeley, USA

Diomidis Spinellis
Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece

Paul Strooper
University of Queensland, Australia

Arie van Deursen
Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

Hans van Vliet
Vrije Universiteit, The Netherlands

Eran Yahav
IBM Research, USA

Yun Yang
Swinburne University of Technology, Australia